Profile image
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Kavakos Leads HSO In Bach, Mozart, and Brahms

Saturday, October 29, 2016 7:40
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.
The fetching Mrs. B and I are really looking forward to an awesome Houston Symphony Concert at Jones Hall tonight [Saturday] as guest conductor, Leonidas Kavakos, leads the great Houston Symphony Orchestra in works by three of the giants of classical music, Johannes Brahms, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, and J.S. Bach.  What is somewhat unique in this concert is that all of the three great eras of classical music are represented: the Baroque Era with the Bach violin concerto; the Classical Era with the Mozart symphony; and the Romantic Era with the Brahms symphony.  I love all three eras of classical music and love the great pieces chosen for this program.

Leonidas Kavakos – Will the HSO say, “he’s Greek to me”

The Greek violin virtuoso, Kavakos, will be the soloist and leader in Bach’s violin concerto in A minor.  Then follows Mozart’s “Linz’s” symphony #36 in C major, and after intermission will be Brahms final symphony, his symphony #4 in E minor. 

This from the HSO web site about the concert: Greek violin virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos has been hailed as “one of the most comprehensively gifted instrumentalists of his time.  His playing combines a sweet, singing tone with virtuoso technique and penetrating intelligence” (Boston Globe).  This fall he returns to Houston to play Bach’s exquisite Violin Concerto in A minor and conduct Brahms’ searching Symphony No. 4.”

As always whenever Mrs. Sheralyn B and I go to a Houston Symphony Orchestra I like to give you a little sample of the concert program we will be hearing.

Please turn up the volume and enjoy some Bach, Mozart and Brahms.

J.S. Bach: Violin Concerto #1 in A minor [mov. 1 - Allegro, mov. 2 @3:45 - Andante, movement 3 @ 9:59 - Allegro Assai]:

W.A. Mozart: Symphony #36 in C Major, “Linz”, Movement 1, Adagio – Allegro Spiritoso [beginning around 2:02]:

Johannes Brahms:  Symphony #4 in E minor, Movement 4, Allegro energico e passionato:

Continue reading Kavakos Leads HSO In Bach, Mozart, and Brahms

. . . → Read More: Kavakos Leads HSO In Bach, Mozart, and Brahms


We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global

Top Alternative



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.