Profile image
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Giving Thanks To HSO For This All Mozart Concert

Saturday, November 26, 2016 7:15
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

On this weekend after our American Thanksgiving Holiday, there is one more thing that Houstonians can be thankful for: our Houston Symphony Orchestra will be having an all Mozart concert this weekend that my wife, the fetching Mrs. B and I will be blessed to attend at Jones Hall in Houston.  

There will be not one, but two of my favorite Mozart piano concertos on the program: his bright majestic concerto #21 in C Major that contains the “Elvira Madigan” movement [given to it after this andante theme was featured in the movie by the same name], and his dramatic concerto #24 in C minor.  I love both of these piano concertos.  In between the two concertos will be Mozart’s Symphony #38 in D Major, known as “The Prague”.  This symphony is unique in that Mozart only scores it for 3 movements, Allegro, Andante, Presto, instead of the usual 4 movements for a classical symphony.

We will have a guest conductor for this symphony, Jeffrey Kahane. And maestro Kahane will do double duty in the piano concertos, as this virtuoso pianist will be the soloist and the conductor of the orchestra from his position at the piano. 

This from the Houston Symphony Orchestra web site:  Give thanks for Mozart when veteran soloist and conductor Jeffrey Kahane leads an all-Mozart program this Thanksgiving weekend. Mozart’s dramatic Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor is the perfect foil for his charming and sensuous Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major. His delightful Prague Symphony unfolds like a musical love letter to the Bohemian capital.”

As always when the fetching Mrs. B and I attend our great world class Houston Symphony Orchestra, the Tales likes to give you a little portion of what we will be hearing tonight. 

Please turn up the volume, put in full screen and enjoy this all Mozart Tales special on this weekend after Thanksgiving. 

W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto #24 in C minor, Movement 3, Allegretto:

W.A. Mozart: Symphony #38 in D Major, “Prague”, Movement 3 [finale], Presto:

W.A. Mozart: Piano Concerto #21 in C Major [Movement 1 Allegro Maestoso;  (14:36) Movement 2, Andante "Elvira Madigan";  (21:33) Movement 3, Allegro Vivace Assai]:

Continue reading Giving Thanks To HSO For This All Mozart Concert

. . . → Read More: Giving Thanks To HSO For This All Mozart Concert


We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global

Top Alternative



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.