Profile image
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

EC announces poll dates for UP, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand in India

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 2:14
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi on Wednesday announced the poll dates for the five poll-bound states of Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa.

He was addressing a press conference in New Delhi to announce the election schedule. According to the Election Commission, Uttar Pradesh will have a 7-phase election, Manipur will have a 2-phase poll, while Punjab, Goa and Uttarakhand will have single-phase polls.

1. Uttar Pradesh votes in seven phases for the 403 seats:

  • Phase I votes on February 11
  • Phase II votes on February 15
  • Phase III votes on February 19
  • Phase IV votes on February 23
  • Phase V votes on February 27
  • Phase VI votes on March 4
  • Phase VII votes on March 8

2. Punjab will vote in a single-phase poll

  • Poll date: February 4

3. Goa elections will be held in a single phase

  • Poll date: February 4

4. Manipur elections to be held in 2 phases:

  • Phase 1 polling on March 4
  • Phase 2 polling on March 8

5. Uttarakhand polls to be held on in a single phase.

  • Poll date: February 15

Counting will take place on March 11, Saturday, for all the five states.

Other Highlights

  • All expenses by candidates above Rs 20,000 to be cashless
  • The Election Commission announcing the poll dates for Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand. Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Nasim Zaidi addressing the media.
  • Nearly 16 crore voters will be participating in the polls.
  • Electoral roll of Goa will be published on Jan 5, Manipur on Jan 12, Punjab Jan 5, Uttarakhand on Jan 10 and UP on Jan 12.
  • There will be complete accountability of photo voter slips, colourful voter guides will be distributed to each family.
  • Height of voting compartment raised to ensure complete privacy.
  • Separate polling stations for women in certain areas, all-women polling stations will also be set up.
  • 185,000 polling stations in all the five states for 690 assembly seats.
  • Ballot paper will have photo of candidates.
  • Voter assistant booth for physically challenged in each polling station.
  • Coloured voter slips for the first time.
  • ECI to distribute Voters’ Guide to facilitate voters; there will be voters Assistance booth manned by officials.
  • Every polling station will have 4 posters for voting procedure and dos and don’ts.
  • Model code of conduct comes into effect immediately.
  • Limit of expense is Rs 28 lakh per candidate in Punjab, Uttarakhand, UP and Rs 20 lakh in Manipur and Goa is Rs 20 lakh.
  • Candidates will be required to open bank accounts and expenses over Rs 20,000 will be by way of cheque from this bank account.
  • Candidates will be required to affix photo on nomination papers, he will be required to mention that he is citizen of India.

We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global

Top Alternative




Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.