Profile image
By European Southern Observatory (Reporter)
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Winner of 2016 De Zeeuw-Van Dishoeck Graduation Prize for Astronomy Announced

Tuesday, November 29, 2016 8:57
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

The prestigious De Zeeuw-Van Dishoeck Graduation Prize for Astronomy is awarded every year to the best Master’s thesis on the subject of astronomy by a Dutch student. The prize aims to encourage young talent in the field of astronomy; a certificate and a cash prize of 3000 euros are awarded to the winner.

This year’s prize is awarded to Jakob van den Eijnden of the University of Amsterdam, for his thesis entitled “Probing the short-timescale evolution of quasi-periodic oscillations”.

Named after ESO Director General, Tim De Zeeuw and Ewine van Dishoeck, Professor of Theoretical Astronomy and Professor of Molecular Astrophysics at the University of Leiden, the prize is awarded by the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW).

Courtesy of European Southern Observatory


We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global

Top Alternative



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.