Profile image
By The Green Weenie
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

11/6: Branch Rickey Hired, HBD Candy & Adam, Shortstop Swap & Silver Sluggers…

Sunday, November 6, 2016 5:14
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.
  • 1930 – SS Dick Bartell was traded by the Pirates to the Philadelphia Phillies for SS Tommy Thevenow and P Claude Willoughby. Thevenow spent six season with the Bucs and hit .251 while Willoughby went 0-2 for Pittsburgh in his final MLB season. Bartell played 14 more seasons and ended up with a .281 lifetime BA. But the seemingly one-sided swap of SS’s worked out OK – Thevenow hurt his leg in 1931, and in 1932 was replaced in the lineup by Hall-of-Famer Arky Vaughan. A Tommy Thevenow factoid: he didn’t homer in his final 3,347 at-bats, the most consecutive at bats without a home run in MLB history.
Tommy Thevenow 1938 (photo Conlon Collection/The Sporting News)
  • 1950 – Branch Rickey signed a five-year contract with the Pirates to become the team executive vice president/GM, replacing Roy Hamey. His son, Branch Jr., assumed the post of Pittsburgh’s VP and farm system director.
  • 1953 – LHP John Candelaria was born in New York. The Bucs selected the LaSalle Academy (Brooklyn) star in the second round of the 1972 draft. In 12 years (1975-85, 1993) with the Pirates, his line was 124-87-16/3.17, with a 1-1, 3.91 ERA slash in his four post-season starts. The Candy Man earned one All-Star nod in his 19 year MLB career.
  • 1979 – 1B Adam LaRoche was born in Orange County, California. He played for the Bucs from 2007-09, hitting .265 with 58 HR. During his last Pirate season, he got to play with his brother Andy and also became the first player in major league history to lose a home run to video review.
Adam Laroche 2008 Topps Heritage
  • 2014 – CF Andrew McCutchen won his third consecutive NL Silver Slugger award and 2B Neil Walker took home his first. Cutch became the first Pittsburgh outfielder to earn three consecutive Silver Sluggers since Barry Bonds in 1990-92 while Walker was the first Pirate second baseman to earn a Silver Slugger since Johnny Ray in 1983. Cutch and SS Ian Desmond were the only NL repeat winners.


We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global

Top Alternative



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.