Profile image
By Chi City Sports
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Local High School players nominated for McDonald’s All-American Game

Wednesday, January 11, 2017 9:03
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

Chicago has a rich tradition of excellence in high school basketball. Ben Wilson, Kevin Garnett, Ronnie Fields, Derrick Rose, Jabari Parker, Jahlil Okafor and more have made their mark on the game in the area. Now it’s time for the next generation to make their mark. While Chicago hasn’t had a No. 1 overall recruit since Jahlil Okafor committed to Duke in 2013, the city and surrounding area has been full of talent. Stevenson’s Jalen Brunson committed to Villanova and won a national championship in 2016. Before that, he played in the annual McDonald’s All-American Game which has called Chicago home since 2011. The game will take place at the United Center on March 29th, showcasing some of the best talent in the country in both boy’s and girls’ high school basketball. On Tuesday, the game announced the nominees for this year’s event and Illinois was well-represented. Check out the 12 boy’s nominees from the state:

  • Nana Akenten (Bolingbrook High School – Bolingbrook)
  • Nojel Eastern (Evanston Township High School – Evanston)
  • Evan Gilyard (Simeon Career Academy – Chicago)
  • Jordan Goodwin (Althoff Catholic High School – Belleville)
  • Temon Green (St. Rita of Cascia High School – Chicago)
  • Paul Kingsley (St. Rita of Cascia High School – Chicago)
  • Shawn “PJ” Pipes (Lemont High School – Lemont)
  • Justin Smith (Adlai E. Stevenson High School – Lincolnshire)
  • Jeremiah Tilmon (East St. Louis Senior High School – East St. Louis)
  • Alonzo Verge Jr. (Thornton Township High School – Harvey)
  • DaMonte Williams (Manual Academy – Peoria)
  • RaShaad Williams (St. Rita of Cascia High School – Chicago)

And the 12 girl’s nominees:

  • Finess Dickson (Homewood-Flossmoor High School – Flossmoor)
  • Cymone Goodrich (South Shore International College Preparatory High School – Chicago)
  • Nadia Green (Homewood-Flossmoor High School – Flossmoor)
  • Claire Gritt (John Hersey High School – Arlington Heights)
  • Destiny Harden (Morgan Park High School – Chicago)
  • Eva Rubin (Homewood-Flossmoor High School – Flossmoor)
  • Karli Seay (Homewood-Flossmoor High School – Flossmoor)
  • Jnaya Walker (Bolingbrook High School – Bolingbrook)
  • Jada Wright (Rich Township High School, East Campus – Park Forest)

In total, over 700 high school seniors in the country were nominated. The 24-player rosters will be announced Sunday night with a special on ESPNU.  


We encourage you to Share our Reports, Analyses, Breaking News and Videos. Simply Click your Favorite Social Media Button and Share.

Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Top Global


Top Alternative




Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.