MONTPELIER, Vt. -(Ammoland.com)- Hunters are gearing up for the start of Vermont’s statewide traditionally popular 16-day rifle deer season that begins November 12 and ends Sunday, November 27.
A hunter may take one buck during this season with at least one antler having two or more points.
A point must be one inch or longer from base to tip. The main beam counts as a point, regardless of length.
Spike-antlered deer, mostly yearlings, are protected during this season.
“Vermont’s pre-hunt deer population is estimated at approximately 145,000 this year with the greatest numbers of deer found in the northwest, southwest and east-central regions of the state,” said Deer Project Leader Nick Fortin.
Vermont’s regular hunting licenses, including a November rifle season buck tag and a late season bear tag (for Nov. 12-20), cost only $26 for residents and $100 for nonresidents.
Hunters under 18 years of age get a break at $8 for residents and $25 for nonresidents.
Licenses are available on Fish & Wildlife’s web site and from license agents statewide.
Fish & Wildlife urges hunters to wear a fluorescent orange hat and vest to help maintain Vermont’s very good hunting season safety record.
A 2016 Vermont Deer Hunting Guide can be downloaded from the department’s website at www.vtfishandwildlife.com.
The guide includes a map of the Wildlife Management Units (WMUs), season dates, regulations, and other helpful information.
The 2016 Hunting, Fishing & Trapping Laws and Guide is available where licenses are sold and on the Fish & Wildlife website.
Contact the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department for more information. Telephone 802-828-1000 or Email fwinformation@Vermont.Gov.
This post Vermont’s Rifle Deer Season Starts Saturday, Nov. 12 appeared first on AmmoLand.com Shooting Sports News .