Visitors Now:
Total Visits:
Total Stories:
Profile image
By Philosophers Stone
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Now:
Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:
Total:

Tonight’s Supermoon: When to watch the closest supermoon since 1948

Monday, November 14, 2016 10:03
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

(Before It's News)

The full moon of November 14, 2016 is not only the biggest, closest and brightest supermoon of this year. It’s the closest supermoon since January 26, 1948. Should you watch for this full moon on the night of November 14? Sure, and, if you do, it’ll be beautiful. But, for us in the Americas the moon is closer to full on the night of November 13.

The moon turns precisely full on November 14, 2016 at 13:52 UTC. This full moon instant will happen in the morning hours before sunrise November 14 in western North America and on many Pacific islands, east of the International Date Line. (See worldwide map below.)

In Asia and Australia, the moon turns precisely full during the evening hours of November 14. In New Zealand, it actually happens after midnight November 15. Around the longitudes of Europe or Africa, look both nights.

Better yet … everyone, look both nights!

The moon will look plenty full and bright all night long on both nights – November 13 and 14 – as it rises in the east around sunset, climbs highest up around midnight, and then sets in the west at or near sunrise.

The moon won’t come this close to Earth again until November 25, 2034.

Day and night sides of Earth at the instant of the November 2016 full moon (2016 November 14 at 13:52 UTC) via EarthView. At this time, it’ll be sunrise on November 14 in western North America. In eastern North America, the moon will have set before the moon turns exactly full, and it’ll be a waning moon that rises on the evening of November 14.

Day and night sides of Earth at the instant of the November 2016 full moon (2016 November 14 at 13:52 UTC) via EarthView. At this time, it’ll be sunrise on November 14 in western North America. In eastern North America, the moon will have set before the moon turns exactly full, and it’ll be a waning moon that rises on the evening of November 14.

Want the exact time of full moon for North American time zones? Okay, so the moon will reach the crest of its full phase on November 14 at 13:52 UTC. That translates to 9:52 a.m. AST, 8:52 a.m. EST, 7:52 a.m. CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, 5:52 a.m. PST.

The moon will reach perigee – the moon’s closest point to Earth for this month – within an one and one-half hours of that time.

[More…]

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinmail Philosophers stone – selected views from the boat http://philosophers-stone.co.uk

Report abuse

Comments

Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories

Register

Newsletter

Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.