Profile image
By Gun Watch (Reporter)
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Now:
Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:
Total:

TX: Legislature lowers License to Carry Fees Texas, Governor Abbot Likely to Sign

Thursday, May 18, 2017 12:01
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

(Before It's News)

SB 16 Reforms the fee structure of the concealed handgun license in Texas. Texas has one of the highest shall issue concealed carry fees in the United States. The current cost is $140 for the original license and renewal is $70.  The reform law reduces the original license to $40, and the renewal to the same $40.  People who are indigent have the initial fee reduced by half, to $20.  The renewal fee for the indigent will be $5. For people 60 years or older, the same $40 for an original and $5 for renewal, applies.

SB 16 passed the House 111 -30. It passed the Senate 31 – 0. It was sent to Governor Abbot on Monday, 15 May, 2017.  Governor Abbot has been a strong Second Amendment supporter. It is expected that he will sign SB 16.

John Lott’s research has confirmed the obvious. The higher the costs to obtain a concealed carry permit, the lower the percentage of people who obtain the permit. From crimeresearch.org:

Each $10 increase in fees reduces the percent of adults with permits by about a half a percentage point.

This bill reduced the fee for a concealed handgun license in Texas by $100, a substantial amount. According to the research cited above, that should result in a 5% increase in the percentage of adults with CHLs in Texas.  The population estimate for Texas in 2017 is 28.4 million.   73.3% of which are 18 or older.  That is 20.8 million adults.

Texas showed 1,150, 754 active license holders at the end of 2016.  5% of 20.8 million is another million active license holders. That is between 5% and 6% of adults in Texas.

Other consideration besides price can chill the acquisition of Concealed Handgun Licenses or Concealed Carry permits. Texas requires training by Texas certified instructors, and legible fingerprints.

It is reasonable to project that Texas will pass the 2 million mark for CHLs by 2027.

If Governor Abbot signs HB 16, the statute will go into effect on 1 September, 2017.

The number of people with concealed handgun permits in the United States was estimated at 14.5 million in the middle of 2016. The addition of another million permit holders in Texas will continue the rapid increase in permit holders. Ten states have more than 10% of the adult population with permits. Indiana has over 15% of adults with permits.

©2017 by Dean Weingarten: Permission to share is granted when this notice is included.



Source: http://gunwatch.blogspot.com/2017/05/tx-legislature-loweres-license-to-carry.html

Report abuse

Comments

Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories
 

Featured

 

Top Global

 

Top Alternative

 

Register

Newsletter

Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.