Visitors Now:
Total Visits:
Total Stories:
Profile image
Story Views

Now:
Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:
Total:

MTECHTIPS:-Gold ticks up in familiar range as markets wait for Yellen

Thursday, November 17, 2016 2:07
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

(Before It's News)

MTECHTIPS:-Gold ticks up in familiar range as markets wait for Yellen

B4INREMOTE-aHR0cHM6Ly8yLmJwLmJsb2dzcG90LmNvbS8tSm92djE2MVFHNTQvV0Mxd3BNbm9MTkkvQUFBQUFBQUEtbUUvZGNya1RNVmpmNFFOMjRiaFEwbmh6ZFFJdEppQkpFamF3Q0xjQi9zMzIwL0cxR09MRC5wbmc=

 

MTECHTIPS- Gold prices ticked higher in European hours on Thursday, holding in a familiar range as markets awaited testimony from Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen later in the day. Gold for December delivery on the Comex division of the New York Mercantile Exchange tacked on $3.10, or 0.25%, to $1,227.00 a troy ounce by 3:52 AM ET (08:52 GMT). It posted a small decline of less than 0.1% the day before. Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen is due to testify on the economic outlook before the U.S. Congress Joint Economic Committee on Thursday at 10:00 AM ET (15:00 GMT). Her comments will be monitored closely for any new insight on policy. The Fed left interest rates unchanged earlier this month, in a widely expected decision, but signaled it could hike in December as the economy gathers momentum and inflation picks up. Besides Yellen, there is important data Thursday. CPIhousing starts, the Philly Fed survey and weekly jobless claims are all due at 8:30 AM ET (13:30 GMT). Investors are currently pricing an 86% chance of a rate hike at the Fed’s December 13-14 meeting, according to Investing.com’s Fed Rate Monitor Tool. The precious metal is sensitive to moves in U.S. rates, which lift the opportunity cost of holding non-yielding assets such as bullion, while boosting the dollar in which it is priced. The greenback hovered close to the prior session’s 14-year high against a basket of major currencies early on Thursday, supported by expectations of higher interest rates in the coming months.

 

Report abuse

Comments

Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories

Register

Newsletter

Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.